I guess I haven’t completely wasted my life

Thirty-two years ago, shortly following my first scholarly publication (“On The Seafarer, line 34b”), after spending an idyllic summer in the Lucanian countryside helping to dig up a ruined Roman villa – a summer which a quarter century later inspired the twenty-four wee paintings which seem to have made me into some sort of “artist” – I sat down in a small upstairs room in a tiny house in the London suburb of Watford and translated a Latin love poem (Catullus 3) into English verse and wrote that translation out on the rear flyleaf of the little book of Latin poetry I was just now perusing once more.

I guess I haven’t completely wasted my life.

20170415_201501

4 comments on “I guess I haven’t completely wasted my life

  1. LOL. Mr. Richardson. Please check your archives, top posts and pages. I’m in the car, behind the wheel, eyes in the rear view mirror, groping around to get the key in the starter. Are you kiddin me?

  2. […] Richardson continues to prove he is one of the most interesting people […]

  3. […] friend, “I really should sit down and learn Greek so I can really read Sappho’s poetry. Catullus is at his best when he’s translating her.”  The next morning I sat down for a few […]

  4. […] Sappho. I got this book in the summer of ’83, the summer I was digging Roman ruins, and I translated into English some of Catullus’ Latin translations of Sappho’s […]

Leave a comment