I hope I live to a ripe old age . . .

I hope I live to a ripe old age for one big reason.  I want to be sitting in my rocker on my umpteenth birthday as some young journalist asks me: “To what do you attribute your longevity?”

I will smile, because I’ve prepared my answer.

Here’s why I’ve lived so long – I’ll say –

Obstetrical hand-washing.
Childhood vaccination.
Public sanitation.
Clean municipal drinking water.
Public health.
Antibiotics.
My own family’s medical history.
Adult vaccination.
Electrification and urban street lighting.
Food security provided by modern agriculture.
Food security provided by modern pest control.
Disease prevention provided by modern pest control.
Food inspection.
Central heating and the reduction of home coal and wood burning.
Urban living.
A lack of large predators in North America.
Sheer luck in not being called to military service.
Adequate roughage in my diet.

And.

Not dying for some other reason at a younger age.

Leave a Reply

