My Village: the Paintings I’ve Been Working On for So Long

The place I live has been a city for over a century. For a while before that, it was two cities. Before that it was two towns. For a very long time before that it was a village, often seasonally, down in what we now call Rossdale. Today, five times as many people live here as lived in Shakespeare’s London and there are about twenty Edmontonians for every citizen of the Rome Michelangelo knew.

But, as far as I’m concerned, I live in a village. My Village is made up of the people I see each day, the Butcher, the Restaurant Owner, the Poet, the Neighbourhood Children, the students, artists, merchants and, yes, strangers with whom I share my days. No matter how large our city grows, I think we each still live in a village. My new  paintings are portraits of and tributes to some of the people who share My Village.

My hope is that when you look at My Village you will feel an urge to consider and honour Your Village.  And, together, every day, let’s continue to celebrate, build and live in Our Village.

The opening reception for My Village will be held from 6 to 7:30 pm, Thursday, May 23, 2013 at Holy Trinity Anglican Church in the heart of Edmonton’s welcoming Old Strathcona community.  My Village is a part of ArtSpirit, a new, exciting and wide-ranging community arts festival.  More information is available, and more will continue to be posted, at My Village‘s Facebook Event page. Everyone is invited. All thirty-five billion of you living in this country named “Village” in a lost Iroquoian language.  And all seven billion of you in this Global Village. But maybe don’t all show up at once: Holy Trinity is beautiful and big, but not that big.

Update March 28, 2013:  ArtSpirit’s Facebook Event page is up and running.

Another Little Update: Here is a pdf of the wee brochure that accompanied the show.

2 comments on “My Village: the Paintings I’ve Been Working On for So Long

  1. […] strange to have artistic time on my hands now that “My Village” is hanging on display and I’ve taken a few pieces to Harcourt House for the annual […]

  2. […] available while we waited in line for the show! I can’t express how happy I am to have had a little bit of an artistic association with this community-building community.  The Wooster Sauce people are so fortunate to have found a […]

Leave a Reply

